NCS Championships
Hayward High School
Hayward CA
Saturday, November 21, 2015

RESULTS AT BOTTOM OF PAGE interview with Jared Yabu and Jonathan Semenza HERE! interview with Hannah Sun and Hannah Ruane HERE!

Girls, Boys Win Section Championships

In the first race of the morning at Saturday's NCS Meet of Champions, the varsity girls managed to hold off a stiff challenge from Bishop O'Dowd to repeat as section titlists. Hana Sun (16) ran to a career best, becoming just the 5th Cougar harrier to break 18 minutes on the Hayward High School 3.0 mile course.

Hannah Ruane (18) and Sara Cella (16) provided 8th and 11th place finishes, respectively, to help counter impressive 1st and 6th place efforts by the Yellow Jackets' top 2. Isabella Chao (18) held the 4th position for her squad, and Savannah Hilton (18) showed her continued improvement to earn the final scoring spot in 26th.

The boys' race saw JFK's David Frisbie build a huge lead in the early stages, with Acalanes' Cameron Gaskell giving chase. Meanwhile, Jared Yabu (17) bided his time in the chase pack and his teammates established a tight cluster amongst the top 25. Jonathan Semenza (16) and Nathaniel Sauerberg (16) settled themselves in the top 15, with Richard Gong (17) and Raymond Diaz (17) just a few places behind as the squad came off the track loop through 900 meters.

At the mile mark the Cougars held a commanding point lead over the field. Miguel Baliwag (16) and Matt McAuliffe (16) were already displacing scorers from other squads and began to close the distance on their teammates as the field reached the half-way point before ascending the hill for the first time.

It was there that Yabu broke away from the group battling for 3rd place and began cutting down the distance to Gaskell in 2nd.

Likewise, Diaz and Baliwag came alive, picking up places as they crested the hill and surged down the long stretch back to the track. As they climbed the rise for a 2nd time, Yabu had overtaken 2nd place, Diaz had moved up 4 positions, and Baliwag was closing in on the top 20.

Though Yabu was unable to track down Frisbie, he did manage to hold off a spirited challenge from Tom Robey of Las Lomas, as the two unleashed their kicks in the final stretch. Yabu finished in 15:18, the 4th best time ever by a Campolindo athlete on the course. Semenza churned out an 8th place finish with Sauerberg just 10 seconds behind to claim 12th.

Diaz continued to pick up positions and snuck in just under 16 minutes. Like a man possessed, Baliwag surged across the line in 19th place and McAuliffe and Gong completed the day with the fastest 6-7 man times in the entire section.

The victories earned Campolindo their 23rd and 24th cross country section team titles.


NCS cross country: Teare, McCandless among top performers
By Phil Jensen

HAYWARD -- A number of North Coast Section Cross Country Championship individual winners Saturday did not leave the race up in the air in the final mile.

Five individual champions from East Bay high schools won by at least 14 seconds on an unseasonably warm day at Hayward High.

St. Joseph Notre Dame's Cooper Teare produced the biggest gap among East Bay high school competitors, winning his Division 5 boys race by nearly 33 seconds with a time of 14 minutes, 46.4 seconds for the 3.0 mile course. The time ranks No. 2 all-time for Division 5 championship races on the course and was the fastest time of the day.

"I felt really good. It was nice to come out with a win for once," said Teare about the NCS Division 5 championship race, in which he finished second last year and sixth in 2013 as a freshman.

Granada's Megan McCandless won her race by nearly 15 seconds with a time of 17:15.7, which ranks No. 3 all-time on the course for NCS Division 2 girls races.

"It's my fastest time here, so I'm happy about that," said McCandless, who successfully defended her Division 2 girls title.

Monte Vista's Brooke Starn led by 9.6 seconds at the one-mile mark on her way to winning the Division 1 girls race in 17:23.2, the second-fastest time on the course for an NCS Division 1 girls championship race.

"It's pretty tough," said Starn about running alone in the front in races. "I think the energy here (at this meet) helps."

John F. Kennedy-Fremont's David Frisbie also took the lead early in the first mile and didn't relinquished it on his way to a Division 3 boys victory by 20.5 seconds with a time of 14:58.2.

"I got second last year in a storm. I knew I wanted this title," Frisbie said. "I like to lead the race right from the start. You're in charge."

Monte Vista's Tim Chrisman broke open the Division 1 boys race in the final mile to win by nearly 19 seconds with a time of 15:11.7.

"I was kind of feeling tired going into the hill the last time, but I pushed through it," said Chrisman, referring to the final hill approximately 600 yards from the finish.

In a competitive Division 3 girls race, Bishop O'Dowd's Grace Taylor surged in the final mile to win by 8.5 seconds with a time of 17:30.1. Taylor was in a large lead pack at the one-mile mark and a three-person lead pack at the two-mile point.

"I was just trying to stay with that pack in front and see what happens," said the junior.

Monte Vista won both the Division 1 boys and girls team titles, both with scores of 41. It was the third straight Division 1 team crown for the girls.

Campolindo also was victorious as a team in both Division 3 races. The boys team won with a score of 55, and the girls team edged Bishop O'Dowd 71-86 for the title. It was the third straight NCS Division 3 team titles for both Cougar squads.

Piedmont won the Division 4 girls team title with an outstanding score of 32, placing all five scorers in the top nine of its race. It was the second straight Division 4 girls team title for the Highlanders.

Other East Bay squads which won NCS championship titles included Granada in the Division 2 girls race (with a score of 34, placing three in the top eight, four in the top 11 and five in the top 13) and St. Joseph Notre Dame in the Division 5 girls race (with a score of 70).



JARED YABU 11 1518 2
RAYMOND DIAZ 11 1559 14
RICHARD GOING 11 1621 25

Campolido 55, Las Lomas 91, Piner 126, Miramonte 139, Acalanes 150, Albany 168, Petaluma 192, Bishop O'Dowd 204, San Rafael 212, Tamalpais 301, Alhambra 311, Sonoma Valley 339, JFK 344, Novato 365, Eureka 429, Analy 453, Encinal 505, Rancho Cotate 542, Pinole Valley 600, San Lorenzo 623

Girls' 1st Team All-NCS
Jared Yabu



HANA SUN 12 1759 4
HANNAH RUANE 10 1830 8
SARAH CELLA 12 1835 11
ISABELLA CHAO 10 1909 22
SARAH SHIPWAY 12 2015 51
JENNA MILES 10 2148 84

Campolindo 71, Bishop O'Dowd 86, Las Lomas 110, El Cerrito 147, Miramonte 158, Tamalpais 161, Albany 168, Petaluma 208, Sonoma Valley 237, Piner 244, Analy 300, Acalanes 334, Novato 338, Encinal 346, Alhambra 367, San Rafael 367, JFK 523

Girls' 2nd team All-NCS
Hana Sun